Leave a comment

1st Week in the Field

Hey everyone!

We flew on a small plane out here to St. George and one of my MTC district members, Elder Baros, has never flown on a plane before and he was worried until a few minutes after we got to altitude.

My P-Day is on Monday now.  My first area is the St. George East Stake area. It’s a walking area so we have no car.  My first companion’s name is Elder Ware from Ohio.  We’ve gone out tracting a few times and it’s been fun.  I serve in eight different wards. Everyone I meet always assumes I’m from Montana.  I have also learned how to effectively use FamilySearch and the archive that the church has for finding family members.

There’s a twelve week training program that they have now, so in twelve weeks, I could be a trainer to a new missionary. Before I left the MTC, one of my teachers, Sister Beckstrand, told me that she thinks I could be a District Leader or even a Zone Leader. Based on that statement, I’m pretty sure I’m going to be a trainer after these twelve weeks and I’m positive I’m going to stay here in St. George. 

General Conference was really good and I stayed awake for it this year.  I know from this conference that Joseph Smith was a prophet called of God and that Thomas S. Monson is the current prophet of God.  May the spirit of God be with you all.

~Elder Billings~

PS.  Please send letters and things to my St. George Mission address now instead of my MTC address, it’ll get to me quicker.

Leave a Reply

