1 Comment

Week 13 – New Companion

This new transfer has started off great! My new companion, Elder Dyer, is from Canada and he’s funny and loving. He’s a great elder and I’m excited to be able to serve with him. We have a lot of potential investigators that we found this past week and we are going to find many more this week. It’s amazing how just opening my mouth can be so helpful when preaching the gospel. I don’t have to think about what I’m going to say before hand when I open my mouth. What comes out of my mouth are words that our investigators need to hear and what will help them progress towards knowing that what they’re hearing is true. It is my solemn testimony that the promise given to us missionaries in Doctrine and Covenants 33: 8-10, which reads, “Open your mouths and they shall be filled, and you shall become even as Nephi of old, who journeyed from Jerusalem in the wilderness. Yea, open your mouths and spare not, and you shall be laden with sheaves upon your backs, for lo, I am with you.Yea, open your mouths and they shall be filled, saying: Repent, repent, and prepare ye the way of the Lord, and make his paths straight; for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.” This promise is so true, if we just open our mouths, they will be filled with words to say if we hearken to the promptings of the Spirit. We have a couple baptisms scheduled for this Saturday. It fills my heart with joy to see a change appear in an investigator when he or she accepts the gospel and strives to walk the path that our Father in Heaven wants us to walk. It is my testimony that this work is true and that this gospel that I teach is the word of God and that He sent me here for a purpose and that He loves me as well as everyone else in the world.

 
Be not afraid when praying in public, for it is God to whom you are speaking to. A man once said, “we pray out loud just to let everyone know when we’re done.” Be mindful of why you pray though. It should be to talk with God and not to let those around you know that you are praying. Another man once said, “if you want to talk to God, pray. If you want God to talk to you, read the scriptures.” For it is the scriptures that will teach you all things that you should know and do.
 
I love you all.

{>Elder Billings<}

One comment on “Week 13 – New Companion

  1. Elder Billings:
    It is such a joy to read your notes each week regarding your mission experience. You have been an example to me of the growth that takes place when you are doing what the Lord wants you to do and what can happen when you are obedient. Keep up the good work!
    Diane Riewe

Leave a Reply

