Leave a comment

Two more in the Water :D

Kirk - Brother & Sister Baptism

We had two baptism this last Saturday and they were great. They were a brother(10) and sister(12) named John and Virginia. I had the privileged of baptized Virginia so that would be the second person I’ve physically baptized! This is also my 13th and 14th baptisms for my mission. I love the Utah St. George Mission. More importantly, I love those two missionaries who brought my dad back to the church and for my family and friend’s love and support for what I’m doing. Were it not for those two missionaries over 10 years ago, I would never have gone on a mission and be able to see the gospel bring so much happiness into the lives of those that I teach. Although I am a little weird sometimes and not a lot of what I say makes any sense, I know that this gospel helps with everything.

 
I’m not sure I told you yet, but I have become accustomed to the Rubik’s Cube and have realized how easy it really is… once you know what you need to do. You just memorize certain sequences of turns and you use that to solve it. It’s really fun to play with, but I’m getting a little bored of it… Anyway, on the 3rd of December, my last companion, Elder Lazarus, and I went to a sacrament meeting and bore our testimonies. Once I say down after we bore our testimonies, I looked at my Rubik’s Cube and my mind was enlightened. I had figured out a way to relate the Rubik’s Cube to the gospel! So in the next sacrament meeting we went to that day, I used it in my testimony to show how God loves us and how He helps us in our lives. It went smoothly and it was everyone’s favorite testimony. When I came to Panguitch on the 5th of December, my new companion, Elder Sanderson, told me that we were speaking in two wards in the upcoming Sunday, which would have been the 10th of December. I had a talk that I had prepared over 5 months ago and I planned on using that one. While I was sitting on the stand before I gave my talk, I felt impressed to talk about something else, and to use my Rubik’s Cube. I quickly opened my notebook to a blank sheet of paper, and frantically went through my scriptures writing down references to use in my talk. I gave my talk and the two children we baptized were there with their step-mom. The step-mom told me after the baptisms that she had bought them each a Rubik’s Cube and didn’t know how to when to give them to the kids. She bought these two months ago and she had no idea that I was coming to the area with MY Rubik’s Cube. I gave my Rubik’s Cube analogy after the baptisms and she gave them their Rubik’s Cubes and asked them to remember what I said.
 
This proves that God knows everything and can set up for the future. I learned how to do the Rubik’s Cube about five months ago, she bought the kids Rubik’s Cubes two months ago, and I learned how to apply the Cube to the Gospel only two weeks ago. This was a great learning experience for me as it was for everyone else.
 
It was sad to hear about the shooting in Connecticut and my prayers go out to all who were affected in any way. May the love of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ be with them forever.

 


{>Elder Billings<}

Leave a Reply

