Leave a comment

How Do We Learn ?

We had a good week this week. We spoke in two sacrament meetings about member-missionary work and I love speaking by the Spirit. I’ve stopped planning out talks, because I feel as if I won’t be able to stray from my talk if the Holy Ghost prompts me to. This way, by not writing a talk, I rely on the Spirit completely for help. I put all my trust in God and hope He will put the words that are needed for those in the congregation at the moment I open my mouth. It’s a fun way to give talks, but one must have studied I order to do so. If you don’t study, then you have nothing in the back of your mind that the Spirit can work with.

I was recently reading in the 32nd chapter of the Book of Alma in the Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ, and I learned that we will never have a perfect knowledge of anything in this life. We will know with a perfect knowledge that something good is good, but we won’t know with a perfect knowledge that it is the will of God and His word. We must rely on faith and hope for those kinds of things. We must show faith in order to receive an answer to our questions.

“Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain, something of equal value must be lost.” -Alphonse Elric (Fullmetal Alchemist)

That is the answer to the question in the subject. If we don’t put forth the effort, we’ll never learn what we need to learn. We can apply this to all aspects of life. When we go through hard times, when we are bored, when we want to succeed, we must put forth the effort. God won’t force to succeed. We must be willing to sacrifice in order to obtain.

“He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it” -Matthew 10:39.

{>Elder Billings<}

Leave a Reply

